top of page

“Clowning Around “ Chapter 76

The first time I went a circus I was 12, and I will never forget it. Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Baileys Three Ring Circus with all the animals, acrobatic acts, and clowns. I would have to say, that like most kids going to a circus, that was the day I wanted to join the circus myself.


Fast forward to high school where I was crushing my GPA of 1. something, I started looking into my options. My future was bright with offers from several Ivy League schools, Military Academies, and a little know college in Florida the Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Clown College. Hahaha Yeah Right!


But seriously, I was interested in the clown college, traveling, and petting circus animals. How hard could putting on makeup be?  Did you know that in the late 1940s, a man named Stan Bolt started to record clowns by painting faces on blown eggs, This practice developed into a register, which essentially acts like a copyright for each clown's individual painted face. I could have been registered, but then I thought, who would want to cover this handsome face?


Note: Steve O. from the “Jackass” movies graduated in 97. We could have hung out at Alumni parties. Maybe I would have even been in one of the movies, flying through the air and crashing down. How much fun would that have been? Oh well!


So instead of going to college or going to work at a sideline circus, I enlisted in the Army - the biggest circus of them all. I got to put on makeup, play with animals, and perform like a good Soldier for 21 years while traveling the world.


When we were living in Texas, the “Greatest Show on Earth“ was in town and it wasn’t the Army. I was about 30, and this time I attended the circus as a father, watching through my children’s eyes. Watching the excitement when the elephants were on parade and the trapeze performers flying through the air made me feel 12 again. However, watching the clowns perform was the best part, until I felt a death grip on my arm. When I looked to see which one of my children it was, I was surprised to see it was Laura. She never did like clowns and yet married one of the biggest of them all.


Over the past few years, a new circus has been performing about 30 minutes from us in Tysons Corner, VA. There are no animal acts and everything takes place under one tent, but there is a stage and it has brought the same exciting experience to our hearts. Unfortunately we didn’t go last year because ALS was kicking my ass, but this year I’m kicking back.


Last month I saw the ad for another circus performing in Woodbridge, VA, about 20 minutes away. I immediately sent out a message to my family - “who’s going with me?” Within minutes, everyone responded with a big “Hell Yeah!"  So I bought the tickets and had everyone save the date. I only had one concern, and that was about seating for my wheelchair. We were told to arrive 30 minutes early and they would take care of us.


On the day of the circus, Laura and the girls packed everything we needed for me and off we went. This was the first trip out in a few months. The weather and issues with toileting had been a challenge, and we gave in to it keeping us home. I'd had enough, though, and there’s nothing better than a circus to get out of a funk. We decided we will pray for the best and deal with the rest.


We arrived 30 minutes early and true to their word, we not only sat together, but we were center-stage front row. Just as soon as we got settled in, popcorn in hand, I got so excited that the catheter popped off and I peed my pants. Laura jumped into action and we went outside and got all fixed up. Back to the show.


The show began and the first performer to come out was a clown. I thought for sure Laura was going to grab on to my arm again, but when I looked over at her, she was laughing and having a good time - they all were. I love seeing smiles on their faces and it fills my heart. We enjoyed 90 minutes of thrills and laughter together. We were sprayed with water by the clowns and ate some cotton candy too. ALS was not there with us, we were in the moment and ALS was left at home.


You can’t let life take your happiness away. Keep being a kid at heart, even if you can’t do cartwheels anymore. Instead, remember when you could. Piss yourself, adapt and overcome because piss happens. In the end, I want my family to remember me as a fun dude who didn’t let ALS get in the way of my happiness.


Love and Blessings


I love hearing from you, please leave a comment and rating below.






DD3.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Follow along and I promise lots of laughs and good cries while we all learn about ALS from an educational, informative, and personal perspective - my own Journey with ALS. 

Share and ask any questions you want. God bless you all.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page