top of page

“My Guardian Angel” Chapter 75

“The Bush of Life” Chapter 75


When I was six years old, my mother left my dad and five kids ranging from 6-18 for another man. We didn’t have a lot of money then since dad was the sole financial supporter of the family. Back in the 1970’s, men went to work and the wives were still taking care of the kids. So when it was just dad and my brothers, there were many times when I only had one meal during the day. Many times I would have to fend for myself anyway I could.


One day, while walking to school by myself (which was normal for me because dad was at work and my brothers were doing their own thing), I noticed a boy walking ahead of me. I'd never seen this boy before, but on that day something caught my attention. When he was about 50 feet ahead on the walk to school, he threw a bag into a bush. As I approached the bush, I noticed it was a brown paper lunch bag. Curious, I leaned into the bush and grabbed the bag to see what was inside. To my surprise, it was a sandwich wrapped in aluminum foil.


My hunger didn’t allow me to think - I opened up the foil and took a bite. Like a wild animal protecting its food, I sat there, curled over the sandwich, protecting it from others. Peanut butter and jelly, and man was it good. I started to wonder why he would throw away a perfectly good sandwich. As I finished eating the sandwich, I looked up and the boy was gone.


The next day, to my surprise, I saw the boy again. He was walking ahead of me and as he passed the bush, he threw something into it again. Like the day before, I found a brown paper lunch bag with another peanut butter and jelly sandwich, and like the day before, I curled up and ate it.


I never did see that boy again, but over the next few weeks, as I passed that bush, I would find a brown paper lunch bag. I don’t know who the boy was, but to me he was a guardian angel protecting me as I walked alone, and the bush was “The Bush of Life” providing me the food I needed.


Looking over my lifetime, there have been many times when I had a Guardian Angel protecting me.  Car crashes at 100 mph, falling from the second story and hitting my head, and other crazy things I did for fun like diving with sharks. I like to think it’s the same little boy who gave me a sandwich so many years ago. He’s been busy, but has always been there for me.


As I'm now living with ALS, I wonder if I will meet my guardian angel again. Will he protect me one last time, or is he waiting for me in heaven?


Regardless of when and where we do meet again, I want to look him in the eyes and say thank you for a job well done.


Love and Blessings


I love hearing from you please rate and leave comments below.


.

DD3.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Follow along and I promise lots of laughs and good cries while we all learn about ALS from an educational, informative, and personal perspective - my own Journey with ALS. 

Share and ask any questions you want. God bless you all.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page